UHealth and the Miller School of Medicine

The Daisy Award: This award honors the super-human work nurses do for patients and families every day wherever they practice, in whatever role they serve. Nominate a nurse who provides extraordinary compassionate care.

The UHealth Tower Leadership Excellence Award: This award recognizes UHealth Tower physicians and staff nominated by their peers for their commitment to creating a culture of belonging, transformational leadership, and multidisciplinary collaboration.

The Good Catch Award: The Good Catch awards are for near misses or close calls that protect the well-being of the patient. These are events which could have caused harm to a patient if would have not been detected.

Sylvester Stars Employee Recognition Program: Recognizes SCCC employees for going beyond their regular duties to meet the needs of our patients and broader community. Learn more.

Annual Seed Grants Program: The academy offers small grants with up to $7,500 per project for UMMSM faculty to pursue pilot projects on Medical Education Research or Quality Improvement focused on health professions learners at all levels (UME, GME, CME). Grant recipients are expected to prepare their final product or data for presentation and/or publication locally (e.g., at the annual Research Day) and at a regional or national conference (e.g., Southern Group on Educational Affairs or national AAMC conference). These intramural grants are designed to be a catalyst for grant recipients to pursue further program development and/or to apply for independent grant funding to build on their pilot work. Learn more.

Dean's Awards:

  • Dean's Award for Community Engagement: Awarded to a faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to address and advance health equity in our local communities. Learn more. 
  • Dean's Award for Excellence in DEI: Awarded to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to expanding diversity and inclusion. 
  • Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring: Awarded to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to mentoring colleagues, including advising, coaching, feedback, guidance and career planning.
  • Dean's Award for Citizenship: Awarded to a faculty member who has shown outstanding citizenship by active participation in the mission of our organization through service and consistent support of institutional priorities. 
  • Dean's Award for Senior Educator of the Year: Awarded to a faculty member with high impact in the domains of educational excellence, including teaching, learner assessment, curricular development, advising, mentoring, leadership, administration and a scholarly approach to education.
  • Dean's Award for Best Senior Researcher: Awarded to a faculty member for their dedication to advancing and contributing to research through consistent, high-quality and high-impact investigation.
  • Dean's Award for Faculty Leadership: Awarded to a faculty member who has demonstrated consistent leadership and collaborative skills in furthering institutional priorities.
  • Dean's Award for Clinical Excellence in Non-Procedural Specialties: Awarded to a faculty member who demonstrated exceptional clinical skills, including effective communication, professionalism and humanism.
  • Dean's Award for Clinical Excellence in Procedural Specialties: Awarded to a faculty member for outstanding clinical performance, excelling in their specialty in both diagnostic and procedural areas.
  • Dean's Award for Service Excellence: Awarded to faculty members who have gone above and beyond to provide unparalleled care to patients, demonstrating remarkable expertise and compassion.

Learn more about recognition programs, and access nominations forms, at UHealth and the Miller School of Medicine.